Fun Course Friday

Do you talk to cows and corn? No, I don’t, but I cannot even begin to tell you how many times I have been asked this question.

I have to say, it is a pretty humorous question, but I don’t spend my time at Purdue talking to plants and animals.  In a previous post I mentioned a couple of courses offered at Purdue, and I thought this would be a perfect opportunity (since it’s way too cold to enjoy being outside!) to take a look at an Ag. Comm. class that my classmates and I have been extremely excited to take.

So, what is this fascinating and FUN class? Multimedia in Agricultural Communication.  Forget about just learning multimedia production, this is about hands-on experience.  The course is project-based, and it’s designed to give students experience with mobile multimedia tools to deliver agriculture information to your audience using text, photos and video. You’re expected to take photos, shoot video, and use social media to distribute information.

The Spring 2014 class is working with the Agricultural Research department at Purdue to produce videos highlighting current research in the College of Agriculture (and topics are completely in the student’s hands!).

But, to top it off, the class uses an iPad to take the photos and shoot video. The iOgrapher allows you to attach lenses, lights and microphones to a small, lightweight case for the iPad.

20140207-200012.jpg
Photo Source: photo.it-enquirer.com

I’m currently in this course and am in the middle of shooting my video. My video highlights research on respiratory diseases in horses, in which the scientists are using horse-sized treadmills… Stay tuned later in the semester for an update on my finished video!

Leave a Reply

